fbpx
Subscribe

Appendix

This appendix shows ways of resolving various card effects and is organised such that each type of card (Wing It, Fowl Play, Bird-tastrophe, Bird) is tackled on its own, before detailing the interplay between different cards (Fowl Play + Bird card, etc.).

We strive to keep this appendix updated and welcome people to share with us any game occurrence they are unsure of resolving or believe would be good to be mentioned here for other gamers. You can contact us at info@flayway.sg.

Wing It

Food Bonanza

Can I place the 2 extra links on different parts of the map?

Yes, you can, as long as you abide by “The Right Connection” rule and place each link such that it connects with another of your links.

Fowl Play

Natural Predators (Tier 2)

Can I remove a caged bird from the Roosting Area?

No. When a bird is caged, it cannot be targeted for any actions.

Natural Predators (Tier 3)

Can I discard a bird whose power has been used?

Yes.

Natural Predators (Tiers 2 and 3)

What happens if I do not have any links to remove?

Discard the card.

Snake

If I don’t have any bird cards, or if all of my bird cards have Snake cards on them, or if all of my birds have exhausted their powers, do I discard the Snake card?

Yes.

Sport Hunting

If I only have 1 bird that I have saved, do I discard it?

Yes.

Urbanisation

What happens if I do not have any links to remove?

Discard the card.

Wild Meat Trade

If I only have 1 bird that I have saved, do I discard it?

Yes.

Fowl Play

+ Fowl Play

Snake + Wind Turbine Collision / Wild Meat Trade / Sport Hunting / Natural Predators (Tier 3)

Can I discard a bird that has the Snake card on it?

Yes.

Bird-tastrophe

Algal Bloom

What happens if I do not have any links to remove?

Resolve other effects that are stated on the card.

Must I remove links that are at the intersection between the zone mentioned on the card and another zone?

Yes, as long as the links are connected to the targeted zone, they must be removed.

Deforestation

What happens if I do not have any links to remove?

Resolve other effects that are stated on the card.

Must I remove links that are at the intersection between the zone mentioned on the card and another zone?

Yes, as long as the links are connected to the targeted zone, they must be removed.

Mass Extinction

What happens if a player has no Wing It cards to discard?

The player’s hand will remain at zero.

Overgrazing

What happens if I do not have any links to remove?

Resolve other effects that are stated on the card.

Must I remove links that are at the intersection between the zone mentioned on the card and another zone?

Yes, as long as the links are connected to the targeted zone, they must be removed.

Bird card

Asian Rosy Finch

If on the same turn, I save another bird of the same habitat as the Asian Rosy Finch, may I satisfy the condition required to gain bonus points?

No. You are required to have saved a bird of the same habitat as the Asian Rosy Finch on a previous turn.

Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo

When I copy another bird’s power and other attributes, does the Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo become exhausted?

No. After using the Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo to copy a bird’s power, treat the card as you would any unexhausted bird. You only exhaust this card after you have used its new, copied, power.

Chinese Egret

If on the same turn, I save another bird of the same habitat as the Chinese Egret, may I satisfy the condition required to gain bonus points?

No. You are required to have saved a bird of the same habitat as the Chinese Egret on a previous turn.

Ijima’s Leaf Warbler

Which card do I add to my hand, if there are more than one Squawk card discarded at the same time?

You may select any one of the Squawk cards that are discarded.

Japanese Robin

If on the same turn, I save another bird of the same habitat as the Japanese Robin, may I satisfy the condition required to gain bonus points?

No. You are required to have saved a bird of the same habitat as the Japanese Robin on a previous turn.

Manchurian Reed Warbler

Which card do I add to my hand, if there are more than one Squawk card discarded at the same time?

You may select any one of the Squawk cards that are discarded.

Oriental Honey-Buzzard

What happens to the Oriental Honey Buzzard’s power if it does not pass through Singapore when it is saved?

Its power remains unexhausted for the remainder of the game.

Pied Harrier

Can I use Wing It cards that allow me to place extra links, in addition to using this bird’s power?

No, since using the bird’s power comes with the condition that “you cannot place other links”.

Bird card

+ Bird card

2 Birds with completed migratory routes on the same turn

Can I save more than 1 bird during my turn?

Yes

Any 2 or 3 Birds that are saved on the same turn to trigger the end of the game

Can I end the game by exceeding the tally of 6 birds?

Yes.

Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo + Japanese Robin/ Oriental Honey Buzzard/ Asian Rosy Finch/ Chinese Egret/ Far Eastern Curlew

If I copy a bird with a power that has the “At the point of saving this bird” condition, can I use this power? (e.g. Japanese Robin)

No. When you copy the power of such a bird, it is after the fact of it being saved.

Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo + Siberian Rubythroat/ Chinese Crested Tern/ Spoon-billed Sandpiper/ Mandarin Duck

If I copy a bird with a power that has the “At the start of your turn” condition, can I use this power on the same turn?

No. When you use the Chestnut-Winged Cuckoo’s power to copy another bird’s power, you are in the Action Phase and not at the start of your turn.

Chinese Crested Tern + Spoon-billed Sandpiper

Can I use both of the bird’s powers at the start of my turn?

No. Since you can only place 1 link when using the Chinese Crested Tern’s power, you will not be able to play an extra link by using the Spoon-billed Sandpiper’s power. If you have both of these birds, choose one of their powers to use each turn.

Manchurian Reed Warbler + Ijima’s Leaf Warbler

If 2 players each hold one of the 2 warbler bird cards and each of them wants to add the same discarded Wing It card to their hand, who gets the Wing It card?

The first person to reach for the Wing It card gets it.

Wing It

+ Bird-tastrophe

Science in Action + Any Bird-tastrophe

Can I change the order of a Bird-tastrophe card after playing the Science in Action card?

Yes.

Fowl Play

+ Bird-tastrophe

Snake + Massive Forest Fire

Can I discard a bird that has the Snake card on it?

Yes.

Fowl Play

+ Bird card

Any Fowl Play + Firethroat

Can I use Squawk cards in combination with Firethroat’s power to neutralise a Fowl Play event?

Yes. You may remove links to use as Squawks while also playing Squawk cards.

Can I neutralise another Fowl Play event, after neutralising one with Firethroat’s power?

Yes, you may use Squawk cards to resolve other Fowl Play events on the same turn.

Caged-bird Trade + Bird card with completed migratory route

After freeing a caged bird, can I save it if its migratory route has already been completed?

Yes. If the migratory route of a caged bird is complete, saving it will not require you to place the last link on your turn. As long as you have contributed one or more links to its route, you may save it immediately after you have freed it using Squawk cards or the Birders to the Rescue card.

Snake + Any Bird card

Can I count a bird that has a Snake card on it as one of the 6 birds that trigger the end of the game?

Yes. If this bird has an end-game power, though, you will not be able to activate it.

What should I do if all of my birds’ powers have been exhausted when I draw the Snake card?

Discard the Snake card.

Snake + Exhausted birds

If all of my birds’ powers have been exhausted by the time the Snake card is drawn, do I need to resolve its effect?

No, since you can only place the Snake card on top of unexhausted birds.

Wildlife Disease + Bird card from the ROOSTING AREA

When the birds in the ROOSTING AREA are replaced by new birds whose routes are automatically complete from links placed in previous rounds, can I save these new birds by paying the cost of skipping the Draw and Action phases.

No. Because the Wildlife Disease card has been drawn and you are not at the start of your turn anymore. You can only save these birds as normal, by placing links.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google

We have updated our Privacy Policy. The continued use of the website will be taken as consent.

X